Helping to support Karmanos

Karry Samulski

By Karry Samulski, Third Party Events Coordinator, Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

A month in my life working at the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute might include attending a 5K walk/run event, a couple of bake sales, an evening gala, a fashion show, a knitting expo, a poetry slam and a golf outing. The list of various events I get to play a part in goes on and on.

What is my role here at Karmanos? I am the Third Party Events coordinator in Karmanos’ Development Department, which coordinates fundraising activities for the Institute. I have the privilege of working with individuals and corporations in the community who are raising funds for the Institute. I help by coordinating volunteers and speakers, providing educational material and promotional support, and attending the fundraisers that are organized to benefit Karmanos.

I also work with companies that will sell a product over a period of time and designate a portion of the proceeds from that particular accessory, baked good, etc. Some people just donate a percentage of their net proceeds over the entire year.

Not only do I love my job here because it is fun and ever-changing, I also get to meet and work with some of the most generous people in the metroDetroitarea. The event organizers are passionate, caring and just want to help a cause that is bigger than themselves.

I am inspired daily by the amount of time and effort our friends in the community put into hosting fundraising events. Whether they are doing it in honor of a friend or loved one or just heard about the great treatment that someone received at Karmanos, everyone has a different and equally inspiring story.

Recently, a woman approached us about wanting to fundraise because her family had such a wonderful experience at Karmanos. They were so impressed by the compassion and kindness which with they were treated by every single person they came into contact with here. They said it made a real difference and made the reality of what they were facing a little bit easier.

Stories like that really speak to the excellence that all of the nurses, doctors, hospital administrators, volunteers and other staff strive for here at Karmanos. I am so proud to be a part of this organization and thankful to be able to play my small role in giving back.

I am always looking for new events and promotions. If you are interested in organizing an event to benefit the Institute, please contact me at (313) 576-8121 or e-mail me at samulskk@karmanos.org.

0 Responses to “Helping to support Karmanos”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

